The Department of Botany in Kyoto University comprises two sub-departments, Molecular Plant Sciences and Evolutionary Plant Biology, covering a wide range of plant sciences. There are five research units under the sub-departments, each pursuing unique and creative research.

In addition to the staff members of the Department of Botany, some members of the Center for Ecological Research and the Kyoto University Museum participate in the graduate programme in Botany